It is the little achievements that count.

Sometimes is it the smallest things that can suddenly seem so huge. It may not even seem the least bit significant in the moment but somehow it is. In that moment of achievement, no one notices, no one cares, no one remembers… except me. It is those tiny self-proclaimed accomplishments that become completely consuming.

Today I once again convinced myself that on my mat is where I needed to be. I still feel rotten from this cold that won’t let go, yet I went to work and did my best at ignoring myself. For an hour over lunch, I had no choice but to pay attention.

I entered the yoga studio grumpy, tired and not wanting to engage. I thought at least I could lay in child pose and pat myself on the back for just showing up. That really isn’t my nature so I took a few moments to relax, clear my head and pay attention to what my body wanted and needed. It was an exhausting hour, but near the end, I felt I really did deserve that pat on the back. I accomplished something so many other yogis do every day. It is a simple pose, but to me, I almost collapsed crying as I had finally done it. Not only did I look like a star, I felt like one.

This isn't me, but I swear this is how I looked and felt in that moment.

This isn’t me, but I swear this is how I looked and felt in that moment.

It may seem small, insignificant and unimportant but I proved something to myself today. I proved that something so simple as balancing on my hand and foot can change my mood, change my outlook, and put that proverbial skip in my step that I had been missing for far too long.

t.g. 2013

*image courtesy of www.lululemon.com

I can't read your mind, but I love reading your thoughts!

