37 before 38. Distractions that made me smile

I am 38! There, I said it and it wasn’t “scary” or evoked thoughts of “OMG, I’m old!” or “What have I done with my life?”. I am 38 and have accomplished a lot over the years. I have travelled, met amazing (as well as not-so-amazing) people, experienced fear, excitement, humility, disappointment, envy, pride, and shame, had numerous jobs and finally a career, fallen in and out and back in love, lived in numerous houses and now live in a home, and set goals and achieved most of them. I hold my head high knowing that I learned something from each and every experience, made many mistakes along the way and am not afraid to make more mistakes. I learned to go outside my comfort zone from time to time because eventually, those experiences will become part of it. I’ve come a long way in 38 years.

I love the saying “If only I knew then what I know now…”, but then if I knew it all then, where would I be now? Would I change things in the past? Possibly, but if I did, would it be worth the risk knowing I would be someone different? I can’t change the past, but I can reflect on where I’ve been and where I want to go next.

1. I have music in my life thanks to my parents. I played multiple instruments and learned the thrill of performance and competition including how to graciously accept I can’t always win, but also learned modesty when I did.

2. I learned the value of discipline and routine.

3. I learned how to have fun but never neglect my priorities.

4. I love learning and my husband even calls me his “career student” as if I could, I would never stop attending University.

5. I completed my Bachelor of Arts degree. I struggled to pay bills by juggling a full-time course load and 3 jobs and loved every minute of it because when I was done I could say I EARNED it.

6. I learned the importance of family.

7. I learned the value of friends and that the secret is in the quality, not quantity of the virtue of friendship.

8. I learned how to listen.

9. I learned how to embrace experiences in the moment and never be in a rush to “get it over with”.

10. I learned how to “smile because it happened, not cry because it was over”.

11. I learned that travelling is not just about escaping from my everyday life; It is to experience what it might be like to live someone else’s life.

12. I have travelled to 9 countries, 4 Canadian Provinces and 13 States.

13. I have travelled by car, airplane, helicopter, train, hot air balloon, motorboat, motorcycle, wave-runner, bicycle, cruise ship, roller blades, snowmobile, snow groomer, skis, snowboard, ferry, catamaran, bus, zipline, go-kart, IndyCar and my own two feet.

14. I had almost 20 different jobs before I found my career.

15. I learned how to escape within the covers of a really good book.

16. The most valuable possession I own is my photographs as they are the only thing I cannot replace.

17. I know I can never live without the unconditional love of a dog.

18. My house is more than shelter, it is my home.

19. I learned how to swim and love the water whether it is in a pool or in the ocean.

20. I’m not afraid to try something that looks “scary” as sometimes it ends up being a ton of fun!

21. I’ve learned how to compromise.

22. I am very independent but learned it is necessary to have others to be part of my life.

23. One of my proudest achievements is my daughter.

24. I love living in a diverse country that has 4 distinct seasons.

25. I love living in a city where I can look north and see the downtown core, look east and see the prairies, look south and see the Bow River, then look west and see the Rocky Mountains.

26. I know what it feels like to love and be loved.

27. I believe everything happens for a reason.

28. Sometimes you just have to decide “it’s just not worth it” and other times you have to fight for it.

29. I have gone skydiving out of a perfectly good airplane.

30. I love change. It shakes up the boredom and routine once in a while.

31. I have met many celebrities and people I admire and am always happy to know they are just regular people who achieved more than they set out to accomplish.

32. I am healthy and although I’ve had a few medical scares, I am strong-willed and am a fighter.

33. I love space and feel fortunate to live in a house over twice the size I grew up in.

34. I love that my daughter has a backyard to play in as well as green spaces and parks within walking distance.

35. I know what it feels like to go 170 mph (legally… on a race track… in an Indy Car)

36. I have attended numerous motorsport races including 14 ChampCar races.

37. I love who I am, where I’ve been and can hardly wait to see what happens next.

4 thoughts on “37 before 38. Distractions that made me smile

  1. Hello, you used to write great, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss your super writings. Past several posts are just a little bit out of track! come on!”In politics stupidity is not a handicap.” by Napoleon Bonaparte.

  2. Awesome…..I read #30 wrong, at first I thought it read…”I love change. It shakes up the bedroom…lol!
    Keep up the great blog!

I can't read your mind, but I love reading your thoughts!

